Zoombombing Resources

What is Zoombombing?

A new form of trolling in which a participant uses Zoom’s screensharing feature to interrupt and disrupt meetings and classes.

How to Prevent Zoombombing

Classroom Management Strategies

  • Waiting Room Message

Any participant who does not login using their Zoom credentials automatically will be placed in the Waiting Room.

  • Waiting Room: Add Participants

You have the following options when participants are in the Waiting Room. Note: It is not recommended that you use the Admit all feature as this may admit participants that should not be in your class.

  • Remove Participant from Class

1. Click Manage Participants.
2. In the Participants panel, place your mouse over the name of a person and click More.
3. Click Remove.

  • Lock Meeting

When you lock your meeting, no additional participants are able to enter your class.

1. While in meeting session, click ‘Participants’ at the bottom of your Zoom window.
2. In the participants’ pop-up box, select (a) More and (b) Lock Meeting. When the meeting is locked, no new participants can join, even if they have the meeting ID and password.

Screensharing

  • Zoom Screen Share Settings (Set up user profile for all meetings.)

Use the recommended screen sharing settings for your Zoom meetings to reduce Zoombombing.

1. Click ‘Settings
2. Click ‘In Meeting (Basic)
3. Scroll down to the Screen sharing options and make the following selections.

  • (a) Screen sharing: Activate
  • (b) Who can share?: Host Only (With this selection you will be able to manually activate screen sharing for participants in a live Zoom call.)
  • (c) Disable desktop/screen share for users: If you need to allow screen sharing during your Zoom meeting, you can change settings in the live meeting to allow screen sharing.
  • (d) Annotation: Enable but following these guidelines:
    Annotation cannot be activated in a live meeting if it is disabled in Settings
  • (e) Whiteboard: Enable and select auto save. Follow these guidelines.
    Whiteboard cannot be activated in a live meeting if it is disabled in Settings
  • (f) Remote control: Disable
  • Enable Screen Share for Participants in a Zoom Meeting (Set up during meeting.)

Follow the steps to allow participants to share their screen in a Zoom meeting when your default setting for participant screen sharing is disabled.

  1. Start you Zoom meeting in the Zoom app.
  2. Allow authorized participants into the meeting from the waiting room.
  3. Place your mouse in the Zoom meeting window. A bar will appear.
  4. Next to Share Screen, click Advanced Sharing Options.
  5. On the pop-up screen, perform the following:
    (a) Select One participant can share at a time.
    (b) Select All Participants.
    (c) Select Only Host.
    (d) Close the window.
  6. Your participants will now be able to share your screens. As the host, you will be the only participant in the meeting who can start sharing while another person is sharing.

Zoom Meetings Set-up in Blackboard

  • Set Password and Enable Waiting Room for a Zoom Meeting

There are two key features that enable you to further secure your meetings: Set Up Password and Enable Waiting Room. Set Up Password requires a participant to enter a password to enter the meeting. The Waiting Room feature allows you to control when a participant joins the meeting. These features will help prevent “zoombombing” of your classes. As host, you can admit attendees one by one or all at once.

Set Password & Enable Waiting Room in Blackboard

When scheduling a Zoom meeting in Blackboard ensure that you set the following meeting options:

(a)Select Require meeting password.
(b)Input a password or accept the randomly generated number from Blackboard.
(c)Select Enable waiting room.
(d)Select Record the meeting automatically.
(e)Select In the cloud.

Start Meeting with Waiting Room

1. Start your meeting from the Blackboard and open the Zoom app when prompted.
2. As participants join the call, you will see a pop-up message:

  • To admit a person directly, click Admit.
  • To see all participants in the waiting room, click See waiting room.

3. In the waiting room panel, perform one of the following:

  • Click Admit All to admit all participants.
  • Click Admit to allow a single participant into the meeting.
  • Click Remove to remove a single participant from the Zoom meeting.

Managing a Meeting

Once the meeting has started, the meeting room is still active.

4. If you wish to return a participant to the meeting room:

  • Click Manage Participants.
  • In the Participants panel, place your mouse over the name of a person and click More.
  • Click Put in Waiting Room.

5. If you wish to remove a participant from the meeting.

  • Place your mouse over the name of a person and click More.
  • Click Remove.
  • Remove Participants From Class

Follow the instructions to remove a person from a Zoom meeting.

1. Click Manage Participants.
2. In the Participants panel, place your mouse over the name of a person and click More.
3. Click Remove.

Zoom Meetings Set-up in the Application

  • Set Up Passwords
    • Require a password when scheduling new meetings

    1. Open your zoom application and click on the Schedule icon.
    2. To set up a password check the box left to Require meeting password.

    • Require a password for instant meetings

    1. Click on Settings.
    2. Navigate to the Meeting tab and scroll down to verify that the password settings that you would like to use for your account are enabled.
    3. If the setting is disabled, click the Status toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.

  • Enable a Waiting Room for a Zoom Meeting

The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting. As the host, you can admit attendees one by one, or hold all attendees in the waiting room and admit them all at once.

1. When scheduling the meeting, click ‘Advanced Options

2. Under Advanced Options:

(a)Select Enable waiting room.
(b)Ensure Enable join before host is not selected.

3. When you have selected all other options, click ‘Schedule”

4. Start your meeting from the Zoom app or from the Zoom meeting link in your calendar.

5. As participants join the call, you will see a pop-up message:

(a)To admit a person directly, click Admit and go to Step 7.
(b)To see all participants in the waiting room, click See waiting room.

6. In the waiting room panel, perform one of the following:

(a)Click Admit All to admit all participants.
(b)Click Admit to allow a single participant into the meeting.
(c)Click Remove to remove a single participant from the Zoom meeting.

7. If you wish to return a participant to the meeting room

– Click More.
– Click Put in Waiting Room.

8. If you wish to remove a participant from the meeting.

– Click More.
– Click Remove.

  • Remove Participants from Class

1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
2. Click Settings.
3. Scroll down and navigate to the Allow removed participants to rejoin option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is disabled. If the setting is enabled, click the Status toggle to disable it.
4. This will disable removed participants to join the session again so that booted attendees can’t slip back in.


image

We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you board with our cookie policy.